Internet

Every room has its own Internet connection (via LAN-port) and its own static IP-address. The Karlshof is connected to the University-Network via a 1GBit/sec Connection.

Security

The port in your room is always directly connected to the internet! Every machine you connect is reachable from anywhere so be careful. If you buy a router the firewall is usually already set up by the manufacturer. If you connect your computer directly to the port you have to make sure your firewall is configured properly because some things like a media server are usually open to the local network which in your case would be all your neighbors.

Traffic Limit

In the official contract it is stated that the internet traffic is limited to 120GB per month. If you used up the 120GB you can no longer access the Internet except for websites by the Universities (TU and h_da). You cannot buy more traffic volume or get a third party internet contract.

How much of your traffic you used up you can see here. The entry Quota is the maximum you can use per month ;)

Router

In principle you can use any router (not Access-Point, Hot-spot etc.) with a WAN port (in many models its colored blue). The only exception are branded DSL-routers by Internet-Providers. These usually also have a WAN port but most of the time it is deactivated via the software.

If you’re buying a router, keep in mind that most models have little to no difference. The most important differences are the speed of the LAN ports (100MBit/sec or 1GBit/sec) and the ability for 2.4GHz Wifi or 5GHz Wifi. Anything more than that is probably unnecessary stuff you won’t need anyway. Here are some examples for usable routers: TP-Link TL-WR841N (100MBit/sec, 2.4GHz) or Asus RT-AC53 (1GBit/sec, 2.4 and 5GHz)

And how do I get wifi?

In every room there is a network socket with 2 ports, but only the left one is functional. Connect the WAN port (mostly blue) with the left port in the wall. If you happen to live in one of the family flats please connect the router in room 1. Now your internet connection has to be activated. To make that happen pls write an email to noc@karlshof.de including your VO-number which you can find under §1 in your rental contract. As soon as you got an answer back it can still take up to 40 minutes for the internet to work.

Router configuration

  1. Reset the router to factory settings (can be skipped with most new routers)
  2. Connect your device with the router. The wifi password can be found on the bottom of the router
  3. Go to tplinkwifi.net
  4. Log in using Username: admin, Password: admin
  5. Start the quick setup guide
  6. Choose the following options: Router Mode, Dynamic IP
  7. Close the Guide

ASUS

  1. Reset the router to factory settings (can be skipped with most new routers)
  2. Connect your device to the router. The router automatically creates open wifi with the routers model name.
  3. Go to router.asus.com
  4. The quick setup guide should start automatically, if it doesn’t click the “Quick Internet Setup” button in the top left
  5. Choose the following settings: Router Mode, Dynamic IP
  6. Close the guide

AVM/Fritzbox

Attention don’t connect your fritzbox to the internet until you’re done configuring it. If you connect it beforehand you will disturb the network and your port is gonna get locked and has to be activated again. Also with these routers, configuration varies widely from model to model. So you can always get an appointment with one of the network-tutors should this guide not work.

  1. Reset the router to factory settings (can be skipped with most new routers)
  2. Connect your device with the router
  3. Go to fritz.box. Log in if necessary (the password can be found on the bottom of the router).
  4. Go to System -> View and tick the box for “advanced settings” and then click “apply”.
  5. Go to Internet -> “Account information” and change the connection settings:
    1. connect to internet via LAN 1
    2. connect to internet automatically (NAT with PPPoE or IP)
    3. no account information needed (IP)
    4. obtain IP address automatically (DHCP)
  6. click “apply”

Internet

Das Internet kommt hier aus der Wand. Wir sind mit 1 GBit/s an das Uni-Netz angeschlossen. Dabei hat jedes Zimmer seine eigene statische IP.

Sicherheit

Dein Port im Zimmer ist direkt an das Internet angeschlossen! Damit ist das Gerät, welches du anschließt, auch erstmal von überall erreichbar. Daher ist Vorsicht geboten. Bei einem Router ist die Firewall werksseitig ausreichend konfiguriert. Wenn du deinen PC direkt anschließt, ist es wichtig, dass du deine Firewall strikt einstellst und auch aufpasst auf Dinge wie Media Server, welche standardmäßig für das lokale Netz (in dem Fall deine Nachbar*innen) offen sind.

Traffic Limit

Offiziell laut Vertrag ist der Anschluss auf 120GB pro Monat begrenzt. Bei Überschreitung sind nur noch interne Seiten der TU und h_da erreichbar. Es gibt keine Möglichkeit Volumen nachzubuchen oder einen Drittanbieter zu wählen.

Deinen aktuellen Verbrauch kannst du hier einsehen. Das Feld Quota zeigt die Begrenzung ;)

Router

Grundsätzlich funktioniert jeder Router (nicht Access-Point, Hot-Spot o.ä.) mit einem WAN Port. Dieser ist bei vielen Modellen blau eingefärbt. Die einzige Ausnahme bilden gebrandete DSL-Router von Internetanbietern. Diese haben zwar einen WAN Port, jedoch ist dieser meist softwareseitig deaktiviert.

Wenn du einen neuen Router kaufst, achte darauf, dass es zwischen den Modellen keine großen Unterschiede gibt. Die Unterscheidungsmerkmale sind die Geschwindigkeit der LAN Ports (100MBit/s oder 1GBit/s) und ob nur 2.4GHz WLAN oder auch 5GHz WLAN. Alles darüber hinaus ist nur unnötiger Schnick Schnack, welchen du wahrscheinlich nicht brauchen wirst.
Beispielrouter: TP-Link TL-WR841N (100Mbit/s, 2.4Ghz) oder Asus RT-AC53 (1GBit/s, 2.4+5GHz)

Und wie bekomm ich Internet?

Anschluss

In jedem Zimmer findet sich eine Netzwerkbuchse mit zwei Ports, aber nur der Linke funktioniert auch. Verbinde den WAN Port (meist blau) mit dem linken Port in der Wand. In Familienwohnungen bitte den Router in Zimmer 1 anschließen. Dein Internetanschluss muss zuerst freigeschaltet werden. Dafür schreibst du den Netztutor*innen eine Mail an noc@karlshof.de mit deiner VO-Nummer, welche du auf dem Mietvertrag unter §1 findest. Sobald du eine Antwort erhalten hast, kann es noch bis zu 40 Minuten dauern bis du auch wirklich Internet hast.

Konfiguration

  1. Setze den Router auf Werkseinstellungen zurück (Kann bei neuen Routern übersprungen werden)
  2. Verbinde dein Gerät mit dem Router. Die WLAN Daten findest du auf dem Boden des Routers auf einem Sticker.
  3. Navigiere zu tplinkwifi.net.
  4. Logge dich ein. Username: admin, Passwort: admin
  5. Starte den Quick Setup Guide
  6. Wähle folgende Einstellungen: Router Mode, Dynamic IP
  7. Beende den Guide

ASUS

  1. Setze den Router auf Werkseinstellungen zurück (Kann bei neuen Routern übersprungen werden)
  2. Verbinde dein Gerät mit dem Router. Es wird automatisch ein offenes WLAN mit dem Modellnamen des Routers erstellt.
  3. Navigiere zu router.asus.com.
  4. Du solltest nun im Quick Setup Guide sein. Wenn nicht, klicke auf den “Quick Internet Setup” Button oben links.
  5. Wähle folgende Einstellungen: Router Mode, Dynamic IP
  6. Beende den Guide

AVM/Fritzbox

ACHTUNG: Schließe die Fritzbox erst ans Internet an, nachdem du sie konfiguriert hast. Ansonsten störst du das Netz und musst erneut deinen Anschluss freischalten lassen. Außerdem ist der Einrichtungsvorgang je nach Modell unterschiedlich, daher kann die Konfiguration hiervon stark abweichen. Du kannst auch jederzeit einen Termin mit den Netztutor*innen vereinbaren.

  1. Setze den Router auf Werkseinstellungen zurück (Kann bei neuen Routern übersprungen werden)
  2. Verbinde dein Gerät mit dem Router.
  3. Navigiere zu fritz.box. Log dich gegebenenfalls ein.
  4. Gehe auf System -> Ansicht und setze den Haken bei “Expertenansicht aktivieren” und dann auf “Übernehmen”.
  5. Gehe auf Internet -> Zugangsdaten und wähle
    1. Anschluss: Internetzugang über LAN 1
    2. Betriebsart: Internetverbindung selbst aufbauen (NAT mit PPPoE oder IP)
    3. Zugangsdaten: Zugangsdaten werden nicht benötigt (IP)
    4. Verbindungseinstellungen: IP-Adresse automatisch über DHCP beziehen
  6. Klicke auf “Übernehmen”